Palace capture starlet Connor Wickham

Crystal Palace have completed the signing of Connor Wickham on a five-year deal from Sunderland for an undisclosed fee which is believed to be around nine million pounds.

The Eagles’ official Twitter feed confirmed the deal, which was accompanied by a picture of the striker Wickham holding Palace jersey. On Palaces’ official website Wickham outlined his joy at joining the Eagles.

“I spoke to the gaffer last week and he said all the right things about the club and I’ve got friends here who also told me some very good things.

I looked at the team before I arrived here and the signings that have been brought in, and the potential to score goals and the chances that could be created was a massive influence. Hopefully I can add to that talent and make the squad stronger.

I think I needed the fresh start, I had four years up north and it’s been a bit stop-start. Now I’ve come back home and I can settle down and see my family a bit more and hopefully let my football do the talking.”

He never truly lit up the Stadium of Light, His form from Ipswich never truly followed him to the North-East and although there were occasional glimpses of promise, no Sunderland manager was ever able to get the very best out of the player for a sustained period of time.

Leave a Reply

